The Five Capitals of Alabama: The Story of Alabama's Capital Cities from St. Stephens to Montgomery

book info


Signed First Edition - Hardcover

Regular Publisher's Price

book content

THE FIVE CAPITALS OF ALABAMA is the history of Alabama's seat of government, and why it has moved around the state four times. Starting with the tiny but booming south Alabama town of St. Stephens in 1817 as the capital of the Alabama Territory and ending with a final move to Montgomery in 1846, the book demonstrates the history of each capital, as well as the political and practical reasons why each of the five was chosen, and why four were eventually abandoned.


THIS COPY (shown below) was hand signed by Tom Bailey on the title page at the store  It is a new, unread first edition opened only for signing and comes with a certificate authenticating the signature. Published in October, 2020 by NewSouth Books.

TOM BAILEY (pictured below from our Wall of Fame) is the author of thirteen biographies of notable Alabamians for the middle-grade Alabama Roots Biography series, as well as numerous books on subjects as diverse as fishing in the Gulf of Mexico and the history of tall tales. He previously worked at The Anniston Star, Department of the Army's Soldiers magazine, and The Birmingham News. Thank you Tom Bailey for signing our books.

book images